Blush review

For fans of: Modern Baseball, Knuckle Puck, Real Friends, The Wonder Years

Track listing: 

  1. Pastel
  2. Honey
  3. Knuckles
  4. Sulk
  5. Glow
  6. Cheek
  7. Sway
  8. Shimmer
  9. Spring
  10. Freckle

Blush is the second full length album from emo-rockers Moose Blood and lives up to its predecessor with honest songs that have not been overcomplicated. Even from the first couple of singles ‘Honey’ and ‘Knuckles’, the four piece from Canterbury made it clear that they were ready to make their mark on the music scene.

The album opens up with ‘Pastel’, driving in with exciting lead guitar but then quickly falls into the formulaic story of missing loved ones. However, ‘Honey’ is filled with optimism that is sure to warm your heart when the chorus drops. Admittedly, Moose Blood’s rhythmic tunes can sometimes feel repetitive and at times the melodies and outstanding instrumentals get lost in the vocals which seem to have been made the focus on the record. Of course singer Eddy Brewerton’s melodic vocals and relatable lyrics are certainly welcomed and make Moose Blood stand out from the crowd but there are points on the album that Glenn’s impeccable drumming is made to feel slightly under appreciated, or Mark Osborne’s guitar lines don’t stand out as much as in previous album I’ll Keep You In Mind From Time To Time.

‘Sway’ begins to get the album back on track being captivating right from the beginning and continues to hold your attention throughout the track. ‘Shimmer’ and ‘Spring’ are perfect examples of Moose Blood’s crisp songwriting with stripped-down guitars whilst maintaining the heart-warming but catchy lyrics that seem to be a strong point for Moose Blood. 

Although Blush lacks some variety towards the middle of the album, it soon picks up during the latter half. Overall, this is the perfect follow up to one of my all time favourites I’ll Keep You In Mind, and Blush has a great summery feel full of some belters but also shows off their softer side. There is also a HMV exclusive version of the album which includes 3 bonus songs: ‘Loome’, ‘Honey (acoustic)’ and ‘Sway (acoustic)’. I did myself a favour today by picking this up to go alongside the original version and certainly was not disappointed, with ‘Loome’ keeping my interest the whole way through and the acoustic version of ‘Sway’ being even more captivating than the full band, these quickly made their way up amongst my favourite songs on the album.

Moose Blood have been sure to showcase just how much they have grown in confidence and improved their songwriting skills. Blush is certainly set to be one of my favourite releases of 2016 – make sure you pick up a copy. The band will be touring the album around the UK and Europe in October, with some dates having already sold out. This certainly won’t be the last you’ve heard of Moose Blood, be sure to catch them on tour while you can.

Favourite tracks:

  • Honey
  • Glow
  • Sway
  • Loome

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s